Rule Number 32

Enjoy the little things. ~Zombieland

2022 End of Year Books Recap

I read 119 books in 2022! My Goodreads Challenge was 120 – I was so close! I was able to read a few books on New Year’s Eve to get closer to my goal, but I didn’t quite make it. This is the first time I haven’t surpassed my reading goal, which definitely fits with the vibe of this year…! There were lots of periods where reading didn’t fit with where my mental health was at, but that’s okay! I filled those times with other media I enjoy – podcasts, YouTube videos, and keeping up with the new TV shows that brought me joy this year.

Despite not hitting my goal of reading 120 books, I am still proud of my reading habits this year. I was critical about which books I picked up, and I tried to focus on the new releases in my series-in-progress, uplifting and interesting nonfiction, and escapist fantasy novels.

My Year in Books has the full details (almost accurate), gorgeous covers, and list of books that helped in my efforts to feel more like myself again during this difficult year.


🔢 By the numbers

Pages: 39231

Average length: 330 pages

Average rating: 3.7 of 5 stars

Highest rated on Goodreads: Jade Legacy at 4.67 of 5 stars

2022 releases: 74 – which means 64% of my reads were new releases, wow!

ARCs & NetGalley reads: 14

My ratings for the year were much improved compared to previous years thanks to my pickier habits, with about two-thirds being 4+ stars and only one-quarter being 3 stars & below. And my lowest rating was 2 stars this year!


📚 By format

Audiobooks = 100
Ebooks = 18
Hardcover = 0
Paperback = 1


DNFs 🙅🏼‍♀️

14 books were DNFs, but there were a few again this year that I barely started and instantly NOPED that didn’t make the official list. These 14 DNFs also mean that I am still DNFing 1 book for every 10 completed – this ratio seems to be sticking with me over the years!


😍 Favourite cover:

💕 Favourite 2022 release:

I read this one twice (ebook and then audiobook) because I couldn’t get enough of it the first time!

🤩 Best ARC:

This one also applies to Best Debut and Favourite 2022 Release – it’s so good I read it twice!

🚀 Best debut:

🙌🏻 Best sequel:


💝 Rereads

I failed at my goal of rereading some of my favourite series (I’ll try again this year!), but I did a few comfort rereads during times where I needed a certain ~vibe~ to get me through. The Scorpio Races made the list twice this year. 💕

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

🎉 Best 10 books of 2022 🎉

This was the year of amazing historical fiction and romance novels. Even better when the two genres were combined! My top reads were only in 4 genres this time around.


Historical Fiction


Fantasy


Nonfiction


Romance


With my low energy and the dips in my mental health this year, I am forever grateful for the healing power of books and how an amazing story is always there to welcome you in again like a warm hug when the idea of reading a new story just doesn’t vibe with your brain. Books are magic. ❤️

Happy New Year! 🎉

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “2022 End of Year Books Recap

  1. Pingback: 2023 Reading Goals | Rule Number 32

Thoughts?