Rule Number 32

Enjoy the little things. ~Zombieland

2022 Reading Goals

2021 turned out to be a much different year than what I imagined – both with real life and with reading. Thankfully, there was still more good than bad for both those things, so I really can’t complain. But I have to say that I am hoping for much better vibes in 2022!

~βœ¨πŸ“šβœ¨~


2021 Check In

Once again, I completed half of my reading goals from last year. I’m okay with that though, as there were other trends in my reading that made for a good year – and it was more fun to roll with it rather than trying to force myself to read certain books just to accomplish a goal.

βœ”οΈ I passed my Goodreads Reading Challenge of 100 books by reading 154 books. (More on that in my 2021 book recap.)

βœ”οΈ I far surpassed wanting to read 3 completed series from start to finish by reading 11!

❌ I epically failed the goal of reading 20 of my owned unread books with a big zero. But my reading habits were a pleasant surprise for me, as reading more series was loads of fun – same with reading a bunch of 2021 releases, which wasn’t planned or a goal but was also very enjoyable.

❌ In terms of rereads, I didn’t get to all the books I wanted to, but I did reread some book from earlier in series that I was continuing and finishing last year. I guess I will have to make firmer plans to accomplish this goal and re-experience some favourite books in 2022!


πŸ† Goodreads Reading Challenge: 120 books

After two years of easily surpassing my goal of 100 books, I decided to bump up my challenge this year. It’s still lower than my total read count in 2020 and 2021, but I have a feeling I won’t be cruising through as many books this year. I am getting back into watching more TV shows, enjoying listening to podcasts and watching YouTube videos, and have been reading tons of WEBTOON comics. I’m hoping there will be some other hobbies and events to occupy my time as well, so I will likely not have as much free time to spend on reading books. Trying to find that adult life balance. πŸ€·πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ

πŸ“š Read 15 of the unread books I own

I’m really not setting myself up for success with this goal after failing for many years in a row, but I’m going to try this again! (With a more realistic number.) 😬

πŸ“£ Read ARCs before their publication date

I was so much better about reading ARCs in a more timely manner last year (like genuinely proud of myself for this), but I still have a couple sitting unread that I need to get to (someday…). I want to make this a priority for any NetGalley approvals in 2022 so my reviews might actually help the authors/publishers.

πŸ’» Write reviews sooner after finishing a book

I’m not sure if it’s procrastination, fatigue, or not knowing what to say at the time, but sometimes I find myself writing a review many days after finishing a book… And then I end up forgetting important details or if there were particular things I wanted to say – and vague reviews are boring! So I am going to try to be better about this so I can express my true thoughts & opinions, and hopefully my reviews will be more helpful to other readers and more fun for me to write.

~βœ¨πŸ“šβœ¨~

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “2022 Reading Goals

  1. Pingback: 2023 Reading Goals | Rule Number 32

Thoughts?