Rule Number 32

Enjoy the little things. ~Zombieland

2021 End of Year Books Recap

I read 154 books in 2021! My Goodreads Challenge was 100. I wasn’t sure how much time I would have for reading with graduating from university and starting a full-time job as an Adult™️, but it turns out that it is still one of the few things I do with my free time…! I was very pleased that I found more time for reading series this year, which was previously a struggle with my busy university schedule. I also had a lot of fun trying to get ahold of new releases so they didn’t end up on my TBR list for too long, and almost half of my reads ended up being 2021 releases! Books continued to be my lifeline to sanity throughout this year…

My Year in Books has the full details (almost accurate), gorgeous covers, and list of books that occupied so much of my time during another year of being mostly stuck at home.


Heartstopper: Volume Four (Heartstopper #4) by Alice Oseman

🔢 By the numbers

Pages: 53923

Average length: 350 pages

Average rating: 3.45 of 5 stars

Highest rated on Goodreads: 
Heartstopper, Volume 4 at 4.68 of 5 stars

2021 releases: 71

ARCs & NetGalley reads: 13

My ratings for the year were nice (but not as amazing as 2020), with about a third being 4+ and half being 3 & 3.5 stars:


📚 By format

Audiobooks = 121
Ebooks = 22
Hardcover = 8
Paperback = 3


DNFs 🙅🏼‍♀️

17 books were official DNFs, but there were definitely a few that I barely started and then gave up on so quickly that I didn’t even bother counting them in the tally. Holding steady from last year’s ratio of 1 DNF for every 10 books completed!


😍 Favourite cover: Fable

Fable (Fable, #1) by Adrienne Young

💕 Favourite 2021 release: Aurora’s End

(This is my favourite book of the year for every category it applies to really – including favourite cover, but it was more visually appealing to choose a #2. 😉)

Aurora's End (The Aurora Cycle, #3) by Amie Kaufman

🤩 Best ARC: The Rose Code

The Rose Code by Kate Quinn

🚀 Best debut: The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels

The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels by India Holton

🙌🏻 Favourite new to me author: Denise Williams

The Fastest Way To Fall by Denise Williams

💝 Rereads

I did some rereads before continuing on with a couple series, as well as reread some of my faves – one being The Scorpio Races of course. 💕

Seafire (Seafire, #1) by Natalie C. Parker
Honor Among Thieves (The Honors, #1) by Rachel Caine
Aurora Rising (The Aurora Cycle, #1) by Amie Kaufman | Goodreads
Aurora Burning (The Aurora Cycle, #2) by Amie Kaufman
Always Only You (Bergman Brothers, #2) by Chloe Liese
Olivia Twist by Lorie Langdon
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

🎉 Best 10 books of 2021 🎉

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I loved sci-fi this year! Apparently I needed some heart-pounding action in my life. I have also realized by looking at my 2020 & 2021 lists that I haven’t had a fantasy novel on my top books list for a while – hopefully I can find some great ones in 2022!

Contemporary


Science Fiction



Historical Fiction


Nonfiction


Romance


With such a big life transition for me this year, I was super grateful for the steadiness of books and how there’s always a story to disappear into. I definitely discovered more characters and adventures to love these past 12 months. ❤️

Happy New Year! 🎉

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “2021 End of Year Books Recap

  1. Pingback: 2022 Reading Goals | Rule Number 32

Thoughts?