Rule Number 32

Enjoy the little things. ~Zombieland

Lazy book reviews: chapter 35

It’s been a while since I posted my last review… I have been listening to more podcasts and watching TV & YouTube lately. I also have not been writing as long of reviews – and there have been a few books I didn’t write a review for at all (lots of non-fiction lately!). These reviews are just in time for Halloween! ๐ŸŽƒ

~โœจ๐Ÿ“šโœจ~


A Taste for Poison: Eleven Deadly Molecules and the Killers Who Used Them
by Neil Bradbury

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book is great for science nerds like me. I really enjoyed how each chapter was broken into similar sections on historical use and origins, scientific properties and how each molecule poisons a body, and stories about killers who have used each poison. Some chapters were far more interesting than others, but I definitely enjoyed reading about all 11 poisons. The balance between ~spooky murder stories~ and the interesting scientific explanations about each poison was very well done! *sips a gin & tonic*

~๐Ÿ’Š๐Ÿ’€๐Ÿ’‰~


A Killer by Design: Murderers, Mindhunters, and My Quest to Decipher the Criminal Mind
by Ann Wolbert Burgess

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m a big fan of Criminal Minds, so I was very intrigued when I saw this audiobook on my library app. I had such a good time listening to Ann’s story, about the origins of the BSU, and the elements of the cases that were featured in this book.

I am always in awe of the “right person, right time” phenomenon in history. Ann’s unique set of skills and experiences shaped the BSU and how it profiled murderers. She put in the time, hard work, and deep emotion that was necessary to change the way the killers are prevented from doing further harm. I greatly appreciated how central the victims were to her work and this book, which showed so much respect for them all.

~๐Ÿ“‘๐Ÿง ๐Ÿ•ต๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ~


Coven
by Jennifer Dugan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The art was really good and the magic very interesting, but it took a long time for the plot to get going (like well over half the book). I wasn’t expecting the ending to play out the way it did.

~โ˜ ๏ธ๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿฆ‹~


View all my reviews

Single Post Navigation

Thoughts?