Rule Number 32

Enjoy the little things. ~Zombieland

Lazy book reviews: chapter 34

Fall is here! I’m going to do some comfort re-reads and get to some longer books I have been waiting to start.

~✨📚✨~


My Scorned Best Friend
by Piper Rayne

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

After they got over the mistakes of the past, I really liked Clara and Xavier together. It was the getting there that was a bit of a struggle… Second chance romances are so hit-or-miss due to the circumstances of the “first try” – and the reasons for these two not talking after being the best of friends for so long were pretty immature and unnecessary in my opinion.

I’m glad that their loved ones (aside from Presley) were pushing them together because their feelings were so obvious. They worked out their issues & hurts and committed to being there for each other. They found a way to make their life plans fit together. The grandmas didn’t feel as present in this one, but their meddling was just as funny as always. I also really enjoyed the little previews of Mandi and Noah’s story!

~🏈💔📚~


Off With Her Head: Three Thousand Years of Demonizing Women in Power
by Eleanor Herman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

We are not interested in hearing their stories because nothing is more alarming to the patriarchy than a fed up woman speaking the truth about misogyny.

I really enjoyed how this book was organized into different topics that explored how the patriarchy aims to keep women below men, both in history and right now. Three of my favourite chapters were “The Dangers of Female Hormones,” “She’s a Witch and Other Monsters,” and “She’s a Bitch and Other Animals.” The maddening amount of misogynistic ideas that have persisted throughout the centuries of history (and are still around today) were examined, and then suggestions were presented on how to begin dismantling this system in the final chapter.

~👸🏼🗣🧙🏼‍♀️~


Do You Take This Man
by Denise Williams

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I liked RJ and Lear’s story well enough, but I didn’t love it. The romance tropes were overplayed at times. It was pretty formulaic and basic, which made the progress of their romance very predictable and not overly interesting. It was nice to see them work through things together and grow closer over time. I would have enjoyed it more if they had started showing a softening towards each other sooner, as the “enemies” mean-spirited vibe went on for a bit too long despite how well they were working together at the weddings.

~👰🏾💐💍~


View all my reviews

Single Post Navigation

Thoughts?