Rule Number 32

Enjoy the little things. ~Zombieland

2019 Reading Goals

New year, new books!

I usually don’t make concrete goals when it comes to reading, but I thought I’d give it a go this year. Joining the Goodreads Reading Challenge is easy, but I wanted to push myself a bit more.

Goodreads Reading Challenge: 150 books

I read 190 books in 2018 to beat my challenge of 140, but I’m going to have to chill this year and focus more on school…

Finish 8 in-progress completed series

I have too many series on the go, many of which are completely published (or will be by the end of this year). So I need to finish some of these to control the madness of my TBR. (I’m looking at you Rebel of the Sands, Across the Universe, Throne of Glass, and The Darkest Minds.)

Read 15 of the unread books I own

Buying books and then not reading them for months is such a bad habit… Indigo sales and cheap library withdrawal sales added so many books to my shelves, so I’m hoping to read and get rid of some owned books.

Branch into nonfiction more

I tend to only read a few nonfiction books each year, but I want to explore topics that interest me more this year and learn some cool stuff. WWII history and animals & veterinarians are two topics I love and have already read about, so I have a few books on my TBR to get to.

Image result for Ravensbrück: Life and Death in Hitler's Concentration Camp for WomenImage result for vanished wil hyltonImage result for All My Patients Have TalesImage result for lucky dog sarah boston
RavensbrückVanished ~ All My Patients Have Tales ~ Lucky Dog

Narrative nonfiction really appeals to me as “less boring,” so I’m hoping to seek out a few more books like Fly Girls: How Five Daring Women Defied All Odds and Made Aviation HistoryEighty Days: Nellie Bly and Elizabeth Bisland’s History-Making Race Around the World is what I have found so far. I’m hoping to find some shorter books to get into this wide genre more!

Don’t read past 11 p.m. on school nights

I need more sleep! I’m always so tired from school and studying, but I somehow find time to read at night and thus become even more tired… I need to limit myself to late nights on Friday and Saturday and get my life together! I know I’ll fail on this one a lot, but it’s a goal to work towards.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “2019 Reading Goals

  1. Pingback: 2020 Reading Goals | Rule Number 32

Thoughts?