Rule Number 32

Enjoy the little things. ~Zombieland

2018 End of Year Books Recap

I read 190 books this year! This completely blew my mind and surpassed my Goodreads challenge of 140 by a lot. (And I had even bumped up my goal during the summer!) So many of these books were amazing, some were complete duds, and some were all-time favourites that I reread to experience the magic again.

Check out my Year in Books summary for all the books I read. Goodreads claims that I read 68,736 pages. (Their audiobook tracking is super bad so I switched these to other editions to actually have a page count this year…) My average rating was 3.7 of 5 stars, which reflects a pretty good year of reading! Here’s a break down of all my ratings for the year:

2018 ratings pie chart

📚 By format:

Audiobooks = 122 🤩
Ebooks = 41
Hardcover = 9
Paperback = 18


DNFs 🙅🏼‍♀️

I am getting really picky about what I read, but sometimes I think I’ll enjoy a book and then really don’t… So I DNFed 15 books this year!


😍 Favourite cover: Say You’ll Remember Me

Image result for say you'll remember me katie mcgarry

💕 Favourite 2018 release: Olivia Twist

Image result for olivia twist goodreads

😒 Least favourite book: You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone

Image result for you'll miss me when i'm gone book


I am so bad at making “best” lists only have a few things on them, especially with books, so here are my top 20 new reads, in no particular order, of 2018 by genre! (Stay tuned for a post of everything I reread this year, which includes some all-time favourites.)

Contemporary

Image result for perfect harmony emily albright goodreadsImage result for summer constellations alisha sevigny goodreadsImage result for letting go of gravity meg leder cover
Perfect Harmony ~ Summer Constellations ~ Letting Go of Gravity
Image result for starry eyes jenn bennettImage result for say you'll remember me katie mcgarry
Starry Eyes ~ Say You’ll Remember Me

Fantasy

Image result for a conjuring of light coverImage result for allied amy tinteraImage result for renegades goodreads
A Conjuring of Light ~ Allied ~ RenegadesImage result for the infernal devices new covers
The Infernal Devices trilogy

Science Fiction

Image result for breaking sky goodreadsImage result for rook book
Breaking Sky ~ Rook

Historical Fiction

Image result for the alice networkImage result for where treasure hidesImage result for the room on rue amelie
The Alice Network ~ Where Treasure Hides ~ The Room on Rue Amélie
Image result for retribution railsImage result for the nightingale cover goodreadsImage result for like a river glorious goodreads
Retribution Rails ~ The Nightingale ~ Like a River Glorious
Image result for blood for blood ryan graudinImage result for last christmas in parisImage result for olivia twist goodreads
Blood for Blood ~ Last Christmas in Paris ~ Olivia Twist (I read this twice in a row, so it’s probably my favourite read of the year if I have to pick just one!)

2018 was a great reading year for clearing some of my TBR (but I also added so many more 😅) and finding some really lovely stories. Happy New Year! 🎉

Single Post Navigation

Thoughts?