Rule Number 32

Enjoy the little things. ~Zombieland

The Song of Achilles review

The Song of AchillesThe Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

I will probably never read the Iliad yet I love Greek mythology and history, so this was one of the most perfect things I could have chosen to read. I got a bit bored/distracted while listening to the political parts or just when nothing was really driving the plot forward, but I absolutely loved the rest. Watching the characters’ personalities and actions change due to their experiences was great, as these kinds of heroes are often only portrayed one way.

The writing was so beautiful and it really drew me into the story. I loved the carefree beginning of the book, as well as the exciting ending. Miller’s version of these events was truly amazing and made for a great read. For those that have a hard time pronouncing names or don’t like having to read a bunch of complex names, I strongly recommend the audiobook as it made this so easy and enjoyable to listen to.

View all my reviews

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Song of Achilles review

  1. Pingback: Theme Thursday: Retellings | Rule Number 32

Thoughts?